Mulgrave Ward by-election results

Wednesday, 30 August 2017

Marion Watson of the Conservative Party has been duly elected as a councillor for Scarborough Borough Council’s Mulgrave Ward, following a by-election on Tuesday 29 August.

The count took place after close of polls on Tuesday evening at Whitby Leisure Centre. The results were as follows:

  • John Armsby - Independent - 118
  • Lee Derrick - The Yorkshire Party - 37
  • Hugo Fearnley - Labour Party - 299
  • Marion Watson - Conservative Party - 395 (E)

The turnout for the by-election was 31.09%.

The number of ballot papers rejected was as follows:

a.       Want of official mark - 0                                                      

b.       Voting for more candidates than the voter was entitled to - 1          

c.       Writing or mark by which the voter could be identified - 0                

d.       Being unmarked or wholly void for uncertainty - 1                           

Total number of spoilt votes - 2