Conservation areas

Areas of special architectural or historic interest, the character or appearance of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance.

It is our responsibility to ensure that any new development should fit in with the area.

Conservation areas may be large or small, ranging from whole villages or town centres to small groups of buildings. Many of the buildings may be listed as of special architectural or historic interest.

Where are the conservation areas?

Brompton (designated in 1985, updated in 2012) Folkton (designated in 1992) Ruston (designated in 1985, updated in 2012) Snainton (designated in 1985, updated in 2009)
Burniston (designated in 1977) Gristhorpe (designated in 1978, updated in 1991) Ruswarp (designated in 1985) Weaponness (designated in 2007)
Cayton (designated in 1985) Hunmanby (designated in 1975) Sandsend (designated in 1972, updated in 2012) West Ayton (designated in 1995, updated in 2014)
Cloughton (designated in 1977, updated in 2011) Irton (designated in 1984) Sawdon (designated in 1995) Whitby (designated in 1973, updated in 2014)
Falsgrave (designated in 2008) Lebberston (designated in 1985) Scalby (designated in 1979, updated in 2008) Wykeham (designated in 1985, updated in 2012)
Filey (designated in 1977, updated in 2012) Muston (designated in 1976) Scarborough (designated in 1972, updated in 1984 & 1985) Dean Rd/Manor Rd Cemeteries (designated in 2010)
Flixton (designated in 1992) Reighton (designated in 1992) Seamer (designated in 1985, updated in 2008) East Ayton (designated in 1995, updated in 2014)

Planning applications in conservation areas

There are a small number of extra controls which apply within conservation areas. These relate to extensions, additions and alterations to roofs (including dormer extensions), the cladding of buildings and the installation of satellite dishes.