Parish councils

On 1 April the single new council for North Yorkshire launches.
Over the weekend, there may be times when some of our systems are not available as we work to bring them together.

There are 39 parish councils in the Borough of Scarborough.

Most parishes have a parish council. This is made up of parish councillors who are usually elected for a four-year term of office. The next parish council elections will be in May 2023.

Some parishes have joined with neighbouring parishes to form a joint or grouped parish council. 

Some parish councils are warded. This is where more than one parish area makes up that parish council.  This helps to ensure there is sufficient representation of parish councillors from both parish areas of the parish council.

Parish councils can chose to be known as town councils. Three parish councils within the borough have chosen to be known as town councils (Eastfield, Filey and Whitby). The area indicated as ‘Scarborough’ in the map is not parished, there is no parish/town council for that area.

You can see a full list of all parish councils here.