North Yorkshire County Council elections

The next county elections are to be held on 04 May 2017. 


Notice of Poll

Notice of Election

Election timetable

Agents List

Statement of Persons Nominated
Castle Division
Eastfield and Osgodby Division
Esk Valley Division
Falsgrave and Stepney Division
Filey Division
Hertford and Cayton Division
Newby Division
Northstead Division
Scalby and The Coast Division
Seamer and Derwent Valley Division
Weaponness and Ramshill Division
Whitby-Mayfield Cum Mulgrave Division
Whitby-Streonshalh Division
Woodlands Division

What am I voting on?

This election is to vote for your local North Yorkshire County Councillor. County councillors represent the residents of county electoral divisions. To better understand the differing roles of borough and county councillors have a look at how your council works on GOV.UK.

If you want to see which division you are in, check our map of wards and divisions. You can also download a map of each division at the bottom of this page. 

Interested in becoming a county councillor?

Scarborough Borough Council is to host a briefing session for anyone interested in becoming a North Yorkshire County Councillor.

The session is on Wednesday 08 March from 4pm at the Town Hall, St Nicholas Street, Scarborough.  We will talk attendees through the election process, the nomination forms, and key dates. We expect the briefing to last around 1 hour.

At the end of the session attendees will be able to obtain information packs containing:

  • Information from North Yorkshire County Council on their Council structure and other key information
  • A complete nomination pack
  • A form to request a copy of the register of electors for a specific County division (which may be needed to help complete the nomination forms)

Please can you inform us of any attendees by replying to this email (  If you have any questions about the briefing session please feel free to get in touch.